FamilySearch Indexing for Mac

Issues related to FamilySearch Indexing
rickybloomfield

FamilySearch Indexing for Mac

Post by rickybloomfield »

I have recently started using the FamilySearch Indexing Java program for the Mac. When I have used past Java programs on the Mac, I have been given the option to make the applet into a *.app file for easy access. Does anyone know if this is possible for FSI?
Jesse Smith-p40

Post by Jesse Smith-p40 »

Applications --> Utilities --> Java --> Java Web Start.app

highlight it, then

Application --> Create Desktop Application

Loging on is now a different story! It looks like Ensign just crashed the server!!! See Page 34 of the August 2007 issue!! I've been trying for over a half an hour to just submit a batch!!!! They hoped the article would have BIG results, though I don't think they knew it would be this big!!!! :eek:
RichCorbs-p40

Post by RichCorbs-p40 »

Application --> Create Desktop Application?

Sorry I'm a bit of a newbie on Mac, where is this? I searched for it in the finder and couldn't find it.

Does this speed up the launch of FSI at all?

Thanks,

Rich
Jesse Smith-p40

From your main system folder. You go through the folders, Applications --> Utilities --> Java --> Java Web Start.app.

Search for 'Java Web Start.' Click that, then there, at the top left of the screen you'll get the 'Application.'
Click FamilySearch Indexing just once, and then the Create Desktop Application option will work.

Speed wise, I think it just makes it easior to find it. When Family Search Indexing is slow, loading it is still slow.
(I got my last batch submited, did another one, and I've been trying for about an hour to submit this batch.)
thedqs
Community Moderators

Post by thedqs »