Tethering with a Blackberry?

Some discussions just don't fit into a well defined box. Use this forum to discuss general topics and issues revolving around the Church and the technology offerings we use and share.
zaneclark
Senior Member
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Tethering with a Blackberry?

Postby zaneclark » Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:04 pm

We have a computer in our family history room but the building doesn't have wifi. A member has said he can use his Blackberry to open the internet on our machine and open New Family Search that way. I have 2 questions: is this possible and if it is, will it cost him extra to do this?

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:54 pm

zaneclark wrote:We have a computer in our family history room but the building doesn't have wifi. A member has said he can use his Blackberry to open the internet on our machine and open New Family Search that way. I have 2 questions: is this possible and if it is, will it cost him extra to do this?
Yes it is possible. This website, in a list of may others, describes this. As for your second question, I don't know. I guess it depends on the service he subscribes to.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

nerdherd-p40
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Provo, UT, USA

Postby nerdherd-p40 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:42 pm

Most cell phone carriers require that Blackberry users have a data plan, so he shouldn't have to pay anything beyond his normal monthly charges to do this.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20763
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:05 am

The problem I see is there is no church-mandated firewall. Nor would the connections involve support it.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
McDanielCA
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Postby McDanielCA » Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:08 pm

For some carriers, just a data plan is not sufficient to tether.

I know because I have a blackberry and tried to tether. This is with Sprint. When I called them they told me I would need to pay for an additional service.

If he DOES have that service it won't cost him any extra than he is already paying. However, I don't know if that is considered to be an appropriate connection.


Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests