Updating Address After Moving

Discussions about the Ward Directory and Map tool on churchofjesuschrist.org.
mianmyr

Updating Address After Moving

Post by mianmyr »

I recently moved and was surprised to see that while my address has changed, my map marker still shows up in my old ward. I tried manually moving my own home, but I cannot do that. Is there any way to move my verified location to my correct house (or even correct ward) or will I have to go through the ward clerk (I hate to be a bother when I could easily change things myself). Thanks in advance for the help!
jdlessley
Community Moderators

Post by jdlessley »

I have noticed this same functionality for members who have moved into our ward. Since I am a ward administrator I have to move the marker into our ward. I was not aware that adult household members were not able to "member verify" the household location. Fortunately, at least, the household is tagged as unverified so I can find those and move them.
mianmyr wrote:Is there any way to move my verified location to my correct house (or even correct ward) or will I have to go through the ward clerk (I hate to be a bother when I could easily change things myself).
This functionality is not correct. I would call this a bug.

When a household moves from one ward to another the household marker should be moved by the system and the verification tags reset. It appears the household is moved but the marker is not. Additionally the marker verification status is changed to unverified yet the tag to allow household adult members to verify the location is not reset. Since this tag is not reset the result is only ward administrators can verify and move the household.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the ChurchofJesusChrist.org Help Center or Tech Wiki?
russellhltn
Community Administrator

Post by russellhltn »

jdlessley wrote:This functionality is not correct. I would call this a bug.