Page 1 of 1

Add 2nd phone number in membership directory

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:25 pm
by jeanmoore
Is there a provision for adding a second phone number for an individual in the ward/stake membership directory?

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:51 pm
by aebrown
jeanmoore wrote:Is there a provision for adding a second phone number for an individual in the ward/stake membership directory?


No. There can be one phone number for the household, and one for each individual within the household. That's all that is stored with the membership record, and thus all that can be displayed in the directory.

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:26 pm
by russellhltn
It's true that there's only one phone field, but ..... I wonder ....

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:28 pm
by aebrown
RussellHltn wrote:It's true that there's only one phone field, but ..... I wonder ....


Well, that's rather cryptic. Care to share with us what you're wondering?

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:36 pm
by russellhltn
Last I knew the phone number field wasn't formatted. Would it allow fitting in multiple numbers?

I can't say as I recommend the procedure, but just wondering. I tried it, but not sure about my results.

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:03 pm
by aebrown
RussellHltn wrote:Last I knew the phone number field wasn't formatted. Would it allow fitting in multiple numbers?

I can't say as I recommend the procedure, but just wondering. I tried it, but not sure about my results.


It would most likely break any mobile apps or other applications that try to dial numbers based on the data found in that field. I would strongly discourage attempting to misuse a phone number field in that way.

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:37 pm
by jla59
RussellHltn wrote:Last I knew the phone number field wasn't formatted. Would it allow fitting in multiple numbers?

I can't say as I recommend the procedure, but just wondering. I tried it, but not sure about my results.


Our clerks in my unit did input multiple numbers in one field(in MLS, don't know if input is checked differently on lds.org); been almost two years ago. It doesn't check for formatting but there is a max number of characters; which caused them to leave off area codes. I've backed out all those entries since becoming membership clerk.

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:40 am
by LisaAn
RussellHltn wrote:Last I knew the phone number field wasn't formatted. Would it allow fitting in multiple numbers?

I can't say as I recommend the procedure, but just wondering. I tried it, but not sure about my results.


You're correct. That field isn't formatted but if you put more than a standard formatted phone number in it, it'll make a mess.