What to do when the FMAT DB is updated and a new Default Location shows up?

Discussions about the Calendar Tool at lds.org. Questions about the calendar on the classic site should be posted in the LUWS forum.
nathangg
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:36 pm

What to do when the FMAT DB is updated and a new Default Location shows up?

Postby nathangg » Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:09 pm

I just got done reading "About setting up locations" in the help file and it says (in the Default Locations section) that if a building was recently transferred to our stake from another one, but FMAT hasn't been updated yet, we should manually create the building.

But what happens when the building is later created in the FMAT database? We'll then have a default location with no events and a custom location with lots of events, right? (since we were using the custom location for a year or so before FMAT was updated).

What then? Should we just keep using our Custom Location? If we do this, we can't seem to get rid of the "Default Location" in the weekly view filter area ("Available Locations").

Is there any advice on this?

Thanks~!

(I know this might be similar to my other thread, but I'm trying to ask a different question on this one.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20723
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:47 pm

I'd think that if you unchecked "make this available" that it would only appear to the default admins when they go into the list of locations and not in the normal screens.

The alternative is to move all the events to the new location and then delete the custom one.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

nathangg
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:36 pm

Postby nathangg » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:18 pm

RussellHltn wrote:I'd think that if you unchecked "make this available" that it would only appear to the default admins when they go into the list of locations and not in the normal screens.


Hmm... I had my wife log in (not a default admin) and she can see the extra building... oh well.

The alternative is to move all the events to the new location and then delete the custom one.


Yippee! :D

Thanks for your help~!


Return to “Calendar”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest