iPad Worth the Extra Cost?

mbs6

iPad Worth the Extra Cost?

Post by mbs6 »

My mother-in-law would like a tablet for Christmas. She primarily will use it for church and gospel study. The iPad costs more than comparable Android tablets. However, I've read that the iOS versions of the Gospel Library are superior, but I don't have first hand experience with it. In your opinion, is the iPad worth the additional cost for an LDS user?
gregwanderson

Re: iPad Worth the Extra Cost?

Post by gregwanderson »

I have no experience with Android tablets. If you go with an iPad I will offer a little advice. The older iPad 2 is still available in a 16GB model for $100 less than the 16GB version of the new "iPad Air." But the iPad 2 is so significantly less powerful as to make that $100 savings not much of a bargain at all. A better bargain would be the new iPad mini, which is also $100 less than the iPad Air but essentially just as powerful in a smaller form factor (with the smaller screen too).
mbs6

Post by mbs6 »

Originally, I was comparing the $299 iPad mini to the $250 Galaxy Tab 3 8 inch. However, it looks like the $299 iPad mini has antiquated hardware. The new iPad mini costs $399. I can get the Galaxy for about $250. Is the LDS software available for the iPad enough better to justify the additional $150?
russellhltn
Community Administrator

Post by russellhltn »

I picked up a Nexus 7 from Amazon for $199 + free shipping. (They have dynamic pricing. It will shoot back up to $239 when the stock gets low. Just wait for a new shipment.) But I digress.

I'm not sure what the differences are. I don't think there's any major differences in functionality (at least for non-bishopric members), just in the details. The Android side is getting active development and they are interested in closing the gap. So any gap that may be there today may close within a few months.