Hymns are now playing in "text to voice" instead of music

Discussions around the Android version of the Gospel Library application.
brandon.langford

Hymns are now playing in "text to voice" instead of music

Post by brandon.langford »

Hi friends, this is my first time posting / visiting this forum. I've been using my Android phone (Samsung Galaxy S4) to play hymns as background music in my early morning seminary class for many months without issues (except for the few copyrighted songs that don't have music). Somehow my Gospel Library music is stuck in a mode of doing "text to voice" for mostly all the songs now. Not at all helpful. Anyone know how I can shut off the robot voice so it never tries to "play music" again, and get my app back to playing the nice hymn music again? Please help.

I've made sure that I have Wi-Fi enabled when trying to play the songs (since I had set to only download content with wi-fi to limit cell data bandwidth). I kind of suspect it started doing this on a day when our church building's wi-fi was spotty (cutting out). One or two of the songs I tried to play that the student chose started doing the robot voice for text-to-voice, and I've had problems ever since.

BTW, if there's an administrator on here, could we have a setting to tell Gospel Library to NEVER use the robot voice for music content? I can't think of any situation I'd ever want that.

Thank you!
sbradshaw
Community Moderators

Re: Hymns are now playing in "text to voice" instead of music

Post by sbradshaw »

Under normal circumstances, there are four cases where text-to-speech will play instead of regular audio in Gospel Library for Android:

1. Audio doesn't exist for the page (Handbook 1, old issues of the Ensign, most content in other languages) or is not yet available (new magazines and manuals).
2. Audio exists but is not downloaded, and your device is not connected to the internet.